OUT-OF-HOME 101

We understand your products and services are unique and need to stand out from the competition. With a range of Out-of-Home formats, see how our products can help you achieve the results you are looking for:

  • Prompt immediate action and brand activity
  • Generate footfall and sales at retail locations
  • Drive traffic to brand website and microsites
  • Increase branded searches online
  • Create an opportunity for brand interaction and engagement
  • Grow social media activity across multiple platforms
  • Successfully launch or rebrand your organization, product or service

  • Create mass reach and brand awareness so your brand is continually top of mind
  • Educate your customers about products and services
  • Attain a high reach and frequency for a low cost per thousand
  • Become highly visible to primary and secondary target audiences
  • Saturate key markets to override competitor efforts
  • Increase brand loyalty and trustworthiness in large and small communities

OUT-OF-HOME TERMINOLOGY

EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT OOH

We’ve compiled a list of the most commonly used phrases and acronyms within our industry. Browse OOH definitions below.

Click on the letters below to browse our glossary of terms

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | ALL

AADT

Annual Average Daily Traffic. A 24-hour two-way traffic volume count on an average day of the year

Adnorm

A term used to indicate a standard of comparison for individual ads

Advertising Recall

Evaluation of the reach or effectiveness of an advertisement or commercial in which a person is asked if they remember advertising
messages they have seen or heard. If there is no prompting, it is called unaided recall, with prompting (suggestions or clues), the aided
recall

Affidavit

Written proof-of-performance from a digital advertising network of the number of occasions a spot or commercial ran

Aided Awareness

A person’s knowledge or remembrance of a brand or advertising message once prompted with visual or aural cues

Aspect Ratio

The relative dimensions of a digital video screen of width to height.

Backlit Poster

An illuminated sign containing advertising graphics printed on translucent polyvinyl material.

Banner/Flag

Large format vinyl ad unit affixed to a variety of interior and exterior structural elements of buildings.

Bus Benches

An advertisement that is mounted on the back of benches located at bus stops throughout residential and urban areas.

Bus Mural

An advertisement that is applied in vinyl, to a large portion of the entire exterior surface of a transit vehicle.

CA (Census Agglomeration)

A geographical area defined by Statistics Canada as an area consisting of one or more adjacent municipalities situated around a major urban core where the urban core must have a population of a least 10,000.

CA (CARD Online)

Also known as the Canadian Advertising Rates and Data or www.cardonline.ca. A comprehensive source book listing all available media in Canada, listed by classification. Media information includes personnel, contact information, and production specs, data and rates where applicable.

Charting

The process of scheduling individual panel locations to deliver an advertiser’s Out-of-Home campaign objectives.

Circulation

The average daily count of persons 5+ exposed to a medium, usually expressed as an average daily or weekly figure per advertising panel or screen.

CMA (Census Metropolitan Area)

A geographical area defined by Statistics Canada as an area consisting of one or more adjacent municipalities situated around a major urban core where the urban core must have a population of a least 100,000.

Colour Accurate Proof

A hard copy rendering that visually matches the colours to be produced in the advertisement.

COMMB (Canadian Out-of-Home Marketing & Measurement Bureau)

A national non-profit organization independently operated by representatives from advertisers, advertising agencies and the Canadian Outdoor Advertising industry. COMMB is charged with providing traffic circulation for the Outdoor industry and its users and provides a semi-annual Market Data Report.

COMB Audited

COMB audits circulations for all products of Out-of-Home member markets to ensure accurate and unbiased traffic counts are provided to the industry.

COMB Navigator

A Reach & Frequency planning tool for the Outdoor industry. Planners and buyers can design comparative Reach/Frequency and costing schedules by market, operator and by product across extensive demographic groups.

CoreMedia

A PATTISON media product, located at parking venues or other Street Level sites.

CPM (Cost per thousand)

The cost to deliver a message to one thousand individuals in a target market.
Media Formula: Total Campaign Cost / Total Gross Impressions x 1000 = CPM
Example: $3,000 / 623,000 x 1000 = $4.82

Daily Impressions

The estimated number of persons 5+ passing an Out-of Home location on an average day.
Media Formula: Gross Impressions / Total # of Days = Average Daily Impressions
Example: 10,500,000 / 28 = 375,000

Demographic Profiles

Audience breakdowns based on various characteristics such as age, sex, income and education.

Digital Signage

A form of electronic display airing full-motion video, with or without audio. Displaying advertisements and may contain entertainment and informational content, a digital signage can be updated more easily, even interactively.

Distance Test

Used to show how an advertising design relates to the rest of the advertising space, or the environment, at various distances leading up to the advertising unit. An important tool used to help determine or refine the size or colour of the text or elements, font type and/or overall design of the creative concept or advertisement to be produced.

Dwell Time

The average amount of time a consumer is exposed to a video screen. Often expressed as a percentage of the loop length.

Effective

The viability of a given media to communicate the relative advertised message to the consumer.

Efficiency

Cost-effectiveness of a media buy based on Cost per Thousand (CPM) and Cost per Point (CPP).

Extension

The portion of an advertisement that extends beyond the physical boundaries of an advertising unit. The materials used for an extension varies by the objectives or restrictions for each advertising unit.

Face

The surface area on an Out-of-Home unit where advertising copy is displayed. The display unit may have more than one face.

Facing

The direction that an Out-of-Home panel faces. e.g., a north-facing poster would be viewed by vehicles travelling south.

Frequency

The direction that an Out-of-Home panel faces. e.g., a north-facing poster would be viewed by vehicles travelling south.
Media Formula: Total Campaign GRPs / Total Campaign Reach = Frequency
Example: 700 / 70 = 10.0

Geo-Demographic Mapping

A method of providing audience specifics as they relate to Outdoor locations, both geographically and demographically. It enables plant operators to specify those locations, which most efficiently reach target audiences by age, sex, income, brand preference and purchase behaviour profiles. The system is capable of plot proximity to store locations (such as banks, car dealerships, restaurants, hospitals and more).

GPS (Global Positioning System)

Highly accurate location system that precisely pinpoints outdoor structure locations, people or buildings in terms of exact latitude and longitude.

Gross Impressions

The total number of advertising messages delivered by a campaign to the target audience. This number is calculated based on raw population numbers in thousands, not a percentage of population, with no regard to duplication. A media plan’s impressions are usually referred to a “gross impressions”.
Media Formula: Target Population x % Reach of Target Population x Target Campaign Frequency = Gross
Example: 1,500,000 x 70% x 10.0 = 10,500,000

GRP (Gross Rating Point)

The sum of all ratings delivered by a given schedule, against a pre-determined target group. A campaign delivering 100 GRPs translates to a audience number equivalent to the target population.
Media Formula: Reach X Frequency = GRP
Example: 70% X 10.0 = 700

Headliner

An advertisement that runs the length of the portion above the windows of a transit vehicle.

Horizontal Poster

The most common Out-of-Home advertising structure exhibiting an advertiser in a landscape format (10′ H x 20′ W).

Illuminated

An Out-of-Home unit equipped with lighting that provides night-time illumination of an advertising message. Third-party proof of illumination is required for advertising faces to qualify for 24 hour circulations.

In-Market

An Out-of-Home unit equipped with lighting that provides night-time illumination of an advertising message. Third-party proof of illumination is required for advertising faces to qualify for 24 hour circulations.

Innovation

Unique eye-catching enhancements applied to creative via techniques ranging from luminescent inks and/or lighting, to extensions that are motorized, 3-D or free flowing. Additional effects include objects such as pencils, clothing, furniture, trees or mannequins. (Subject to approval for outdoor advertising structures).

King Display or Poster

Poster located on the exterior sides of a transit vehicle.

Lead Time

The period of time required between initiating the process of producing an advertisement, through client approval and printing or rendering the final advertisement to be posted or aired as per the contracted date(s).

Load Factor

A numerical factor reflecting the average number of passengers in a car which is then applied to vehicle counts at advertising structure locations. Load factors vary by market. These vehicle counts translate into potential audience counts.

Location List

A listing of all locations scheduled or charted to deliver a specific Out-of-Home Advertising campaign.

Loop

Scheduling of a pool of commercials and information content through a set schedule, on a rotating basis.

LRT 28 Posters

Ads typically mounted at the doors entering or exiting a commuter train.

LRT Station Posters

Ads mounted throughout the concourse and platform areas of LRT Stations.

Media Formulae

The most common media formulae are used to calculate Reach, Frequency or Gross Impressions. Any two components can be used to determine the third.

Media Habit

An analysis of a target audience’s media consumption (i.e. # of hours spent watching TV, listening to radio, reading the daily newspaper or kilometers travelled), sourced from BBM/RTS.

Mock Up

Commonly used as part of the creative concept development process for an advertisement. Typically to see how the design or elements relate to the rest of the space or environment.

Mural

An advertisement that is either painted on, or applied in vinyl, to the majority or the entire exterior surface of a building or vehicle.

Network

A group of multiple locations airing identical content on-screen.

Operator

Out-Of-Home company (also known as Plant Operator).

Out-of-Home

All outdoor advertising media that are specifically intended to reach consumers outside the home.

P.O.P. (Proof of Performance)

A certification issued by an outdoor advertising company that the contracted advertising has been rendered.

PDF Proof (for placement only)

A digital file format copy used to verify content of an advertisement. Generally used to verify placement and sizing of objects or text within a design only, not for colour matching.

Permanent Bulletin

A bulletin on which the advertisers remains permanently located at a specified site throughout the term of a contract, usually for a year or more. A permanent bulletin program can build strong brand recognition in specific market areas.

Place-Based Media

Media that is strategically placed in, and defined by, the location in which it resides such as airports, offices, elevators, arenas, etc. Often used by advertisers to target specific audiences demographically or psychographically.

Plant

All the outdoor advertising units in a market operated by a single company.

Plant Drive

A tour of a particular market to view locations prior to choosing an Out-of-Home company or after a campaign has posted.

PMS Number

Pantone Matching System (PMS), a proprietary standardized colour reproduction system used as a guideline to match specific ink colours used to produce artwork for final client approval.

Point-of-Purchase Display (POP)

An advertising display at the place where consumers purchase goods or services (e.g. counter card at a retail outlet).

Poster

(also known as panel or face) An Out-of-Home advertising structure exhibiting an advertiser in the most common outdoor structures being a horizontal (10′ H x 20′ W) or vertical (16′ H x 12′ W) format.

Posting Date

The date when an advertising campaign is scheduled to commence. A five-day “window” is customary to allow for complete installation or posting of a showing for an advertiser.

Posting Instructions

Detailed instructions provided to an outdoor advertising company by an advertiser or agency with regard to the execution of the ad campaign. The information is used to chart a showing with the greatest efficiency to reach a desired target audience. Can include location and copy rotation instructions.

Product Usage

Information about consumers’ buying habits and attitudes, brand preferences, and usage of a particular product or service.

Production

To create a print or broadcast advertisement, from a creative concept.

Psychographics

Analysis of consumer demographics, geographic and lifestyles characteristics to create a detailed customer profile of the primary consumer (or target audience) of a particular product or service.

Rate Card

Information provided by media companies that contain advertising costs, sizes available, markets and circulation data.

Reach

A measurement of cumulative unduplicated target audience exposure to an advertiser’s message, in a given time frame.
Media Formula: Total Campaign GRPs / Frequency = % Reach
Example: 700 / 10.0 = 70%

Seventy Displays

Poster typically mounted on the backs of a transit vehicle.

Showing

The full, contracted advertising campaign for a specific advertiser, in a specific geographic area for a specific time period.

SMS (Short Messaging Service)

A wireless messaging service that permits the transmission of a short text message from and/or to a digital mobile telephone terminal.

Snipe

Refers to a small piece of advertising copy added to an already posted display to modify or append the original message.

Specialty Advertising

A form of advertising that uses decals or vinyl materials that are applied to walls, floors, windows, doors or vehicles to communicate an advertising message.

Spectacular

An Out-of-Home advertising structure usually larger than 14′ H x 48′ W, positioned at prime locations in a market, for the exclusive use of one advertiser for a long term.

Station Domination / Vehicle Domination

A single advertiser dominates all the traditional and specialty media options available within a station or vehicle.

Storyboard

A set of graphic renderings of the significant frame progression, accompanied by appropriate copy, depicting what a finished commercial will look like.

Street Ads

A PATTISON media product displaying with copy area 67” H x 46” W, located at parking venues or other street level sites.

Street Level Advertising

Displays with copy area 67” H x 46” W, located at parking venues (Street Ads or CoreMedia) or bus stops (Transit Shelters).

Superboard

A large format billboard, usually 10′ H x 40′ W or 14′ H x 4′ W in size, that has a portion added onto it that extends further than the traditional size.

Superbus / Supertrain

A form of advertising that uses decals or vinyl materials that are applied to both sides, the back and roof of a bus or train to communicate an advertising message.

Target Audience

The profile of the most desired consumer prospects for a product or service, listed by characteristics such as demography, lifestyle, brand or media consumption or purchase behavior.

Transit Interior Cards

Ads mounted above the windows inside transit vehicles.

Transit Shelters

Displays with copy area 67” H x 46” W, located at bus stops in residential or urban areas.

Transit Specialty Advertising

A form of advertising that uses decals or vinyl materials that are applied to walls, ceilings, floors, windows, doors or vehicles to communicate an advertising message.

Tri-Vision or TRIO

The profile of the most desired consumer prospects for a product or service, listed by characteristics such as demography, lifestyle, brand or media consumption or purchase behavior.

UltraTail

An advertisement that is applied in vinyl to the entire exterior back surface of a transit vehicle.

Unaided Awareness

Percentage of target group aware of brand/advertising without prompting.

Vertical Poster

A common Out-of-Home advertising structure exhibiting an advertiser in a portrait format (16′ H x12′ W)

Video Displays

Video or digital screens offering TV-quality displays that are positioned in locations outside of the home.

Volume Discount

A discount given to advertisers based on a number of factors including number of weeks, units and total dollar volume.

Wall Mural

An advertisement that is either painted on, or applied in vinyl, to the majority or the entire exterior surface of a building.

Wrap

An advertisement that is applied in vinyl to the exterior surface of a building or transit vehicle. Also can be applied to windows, doors, walls, escalators, elevators or floors.

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